@JWUWSoccerNM Enjoys Night at 18th Annual Athletics Banquet

@JWUWSoccerNM Enjoys Night at 18th Annual Athletics Banquet

The JWU women's soccer team enjoyed a great night at the 18th annual athletics banquet.  The team had an opportunity to recognize a few players and look back on their 2016 season.  A season that saw the team have two players named All-Sun Conference (Bailee Abrahamoff and Soleil Duplain), the first time in program history the team has had two players named All-Conference in the same season.  The team also placed four players on the Academic All-Conference Team (Jenna Boersma, Desiree Rudnick, Monica Martinez and Sydney Smedley).

2016/2017 Women's Soccer Award Winners:

Defensive Players of the Year

Haylee Gordon/Center Back (Valdosta, Ga.)  She started 15 games and helped the JWU backline allow less than 2 goals per game and record 2 shutouts in conference play.  Team finished with a 1.20 goals against average. 

Offensive Player of the Year

Bailee Abrahamoff/Forward (Cooper City, Fla.)  Was named All-Sun Conference Honorable Mention.  Led the team in points with 14th.  Ranked 6th in the Sun Conference in goals and 11th in points.  Finishes her JWU career with 20 goals and 43 points.

Coaches Award

Annet Cea/Defender (Hialeah, Fla.) – In 2016, Annet Cea started and played in every minute of every game, and was used in different positions throughout the season.  Annet finished the season with 2 goals and 1 assist. 

Sydney Smedley/Center Midfielder (Ashburn, Va.) -- In 2016, Sydney Smedley started every game, scoring 3 goals with 2 coming in conference play. Sydney was also named to the Academic All-Sun Conference team.

Captains Award:

Samantha Klein/Midfielder (Clermont, Fla.)

Jenna Boersma/Goalkeeper (Coral Springs, Fla.)

Bailee Abrahamoff/Forward (Cooper City, Fla. 

Overall Athletic Awards:

JWU David Adamonis Sr. Ambassador Award: Jenna Boersma/Goalkeeper (Coral Springs, Fla.)

Left to Right: Assistant Coach David Luna, Assistant Coach Ria Denny, Haylee Gordon, Sydney Smedley, Christina Medina, Annet Cea, Jenna Boersma, Bailee Abrahamoff, Samantha Klein, Fiona Whitfield, Head Coach Eric Dobrzanski.