Wildcats Place Fourth in 2018 TSC Men’s Golf Championship

Wildcats Place Fourth in 2018 TSC Men’s Golf Championship

Final Results (PDF)


PLANTATION, Fla. (April 25, 2018) – The Johnson & Wales men's golf team carded a six-over-par (870) to finish fourth on the team leaderboard at the 2018 Sun Conference Men's Golf Championship.

The tournament, held at Plantation Preserve Golf Course & Club (par 72, 7,021 yards), was a three-day event comprised of an 11-team field, including seven programs ranked in the Top 25 in the NAIA GolfStat Ranking (as of April 18).

Entering Day Three, the Wildcats sat in fourth place with a Day Two score of 297 (+9). JWU used a 1-under (287) to improve the team's overall score but it was not enough as USCB registered nine-under on the final day of competition to claim the conference crown.

JWU (286-297-287, 870) finished eight strokes back from third-place Coastal Georgia (289-291-281, 862). USCB (287-287-279, 853) won the 2018 title over second-place Keiser (278-288-288, 854) by one stroke.

Alex Rainville, a 2018 All-TSC selection, was the top Wildcat on the individual leaderboard, shooting a three-under-par (213). Rainville (67-76-70, 213) finished tied for third and was four strokes back from the tournament medalist Mark David Johnson (Coastal Georgia), who posted a three-day total of 209 (-7). It marked the sixth Top-5 finish for Rainville this season. Max Major shot season-best 216 (E) for the tournament to place tied for ninth. It was Major's (74-73-69, 216) first Top-10 finish of the year, while his third-day score of 69 tied for his season-best round of the year.

2018 All-Sun Conference selections Jake Bauer and Cody Booska each tied for 21st with a 7-over for the tournament. Bauer (71-77-73) and Booska (77-73-73) both carded a 223 over three rounds. Rounding out JWU's scores on the individual leaderboard was Casey Mills, who finished the event with a 12-over-par (74-75-79, 228) to tie for 30th.

The Wildcats now await the at-large selection for the 67th Annual NAIA Men's Golf Championship held at TPC Deere Run, Silvis, Illinois (May 15-18).


2018 TSC Awards


2018 TSC Men's Champions - USCB

2018 TSC Individual Medalist - Mark David Johnson - Coastal Georgia

2018 TSC Player of the Year - Newport Laparojkit - USCB

2018 TSC Freshman of the Year - Chip Thompson - Coastal Georgia

2018 TSC Coach of the Year - Danny Allen – USCB

2018 TSC Champion of Character - Landry Miller – Southeastern


2018 TSC All-Conference Team

Newport Laparojkit - USCB
Lauri Hacklin - Coastal Georgia
Alex Rainville - JWU
Jack Dyer - Keiser
Jake Bauer - JWU
Mark David Johnson - Coastal Georgia
Kyle Kidd - Coastal Georgia
Erik Jonasson - Keiser
Keith Murphy - USCB
Liam Gransden - Keiser
Cody Booska - JWU
Toby Graves - Keiser
Joe Bannan - Thomas
Carlos Ardila - Southeastern
Chip Thompson - Coastal Georgia


2018 TSC All-Academic Team

Jake Bauer – JWU
Baylee Wise – JWU
Jakub Szlaur – Ave Maria
Kyler Hardie – Ave Maria
Christian Kreiger – Ave Maria
Ranko Helc – Webber International
Alberto Pinazo – Webber International
Christian Brown – Keiser
Nate Dong – Keiser
Arnaud Galand – Keiser
Erik Jonasson – Keiser
Ross MacPherson – Keiser
Petter Norberg – Keiser
Thomas Pirinoli – Keiser
Andy Carmicheal – SCAD
Josh Edgar – SCAD
Nicolas Fasoli – SCAD
Valentin Haack – SCAD
Juan Diego Perez – SCAD
Landry Miller – Southeastern
Michael Springer – Coastal Georgia
Lauri Hacklin – Coastal Georgia
Marc Sweeney – USCB
Cole Nead – USCB
Bobby Dunphy – USCB