JWU Men’s Golf Earns At-Large Bid to the 67th Annual NAIA National Championship Tournament

JWU Men’s Golf Earns At-Large Bid to the 67th Annual NAIA National Championship Tournament

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (May. 3, 2018) – The Johnson & Wales men's golf program has qualified for this year's NAIA Men's Golf National Championships, May 15-18, earning an at-large bid the organization announced on Thursday. The 67th annual event will take place at TPC Deere Run for the third-straight year in Silvis, Illinois.

This marks the Wildcats' 18th-consecutive appearance in the national tournament. Last season, JWU finished tied for eighth.

The Wildcats are one of five qualifiers (JWU, Keiser, USCB, Coastal Georgia, and Southeastern) for this year's tournament from the Sun Conference (the most by any conference).

Ranked No. 7 in the final regular-season NAIA Men's Golf Coaches' Top 25 Poll, JWU enters this year's national championship with a season stroke average of 290.98 over 14 events this season. The Wildcats finished fourth in last month's TSC Men's Golf Championship, marking the team's ninth Top-5 finish in 2017-18. On the year, JWU has amassed 19 individual top-10 finishes with 11 Top-5 results, and two medalists.

The 156-player field consists of 21 automatic qualifying teams, which won or finished runner-up in their respective conference, independent or unaffiliated group tournament, one host berth to St. Ambrose University (Iowa) and seven at-large team berths. At-large teams were determined using the final regular-season Coaches' Top 25 Poll released on Thursday.

First and second round pairings and tee times for the championships will be announced Friday, May 4, at approximately 2 p.m. EDT on www.NAIA.org.

2018 Men's Golf National Championships Team Qualifiers (listed alphabetically)

School Qualification Last Team Appearance Team Titles Individual Titles
Asbury (Ky.) River States Athletic Tournament Runner-Up 1st    
Bethany (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 2015 (17th)    
British Columbia At-Large No. 6 2017 (12th) 1  
Brescia (Ky.) River States Athletic Tournament Champion 2002 (T10th)    
Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 2017 (2nd)    
Coastal Georgia At-Large No. 5 2016 (11th) 2  
Cumberland (Tenn.) Mid-South Tournament Champion 2009 (16th)    
Dalton State (Ga.) Southern States Athletic Tournament Champion 2017 (T4th)   1
Holy Cross (Ind.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Tournament Runner-Up 2012 (T14th)    
Jamestown (N.D.) North Star Athletic Tournament Champion 1st    
Johnson & Wales (Fla.) At-Large No. 4 2017 (T8th) 1 1
Keiser (Fla.) At-Large No. 2 2017 (T8th)    
Marymount California California Pacific Tournament Champion 1st    
Northwestern (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Tournament Champion 2017 (T13th)    
Northwestern Ohio, University of Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Tournament Champion 1st    
Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Tournament Champion 2017 (6th) 10 5
Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) Unaffiliated Group (A.I.I. / GSAC / RRAC) Tournament Champion 2017 (15th)    
Oregon Tech Cascade Collegiate Tournament Champion 2016 (7th)    
Point (Ga.) Appalachian Athletic Tournament Champion 1st    
Rocky Mountain (Mont.) Frontier Tournament Champion 2010 (13th)    
Southeastern (Fla.) At-Large No. 7 1st    
St. Ambrose (Iowa) Host Berth 2011 (T12th)    
Taylor (Ind.) Crossroads League Tournament Champion 1979 (15th)    
Texas Wesleyan At-Large No. 3 2017 (3rd) 6 11
USC Beaufort (S.C.) The Sun Tournament Champion 2016 (8th)    
Victoria (B.C.) Unaffiliated Group (A.I.I. / GSAC / RRAC) Tournament Runner-Up 2016 (T9th)   1
Wayland Baptist (Texas) At-Large No. 1 2017 (7th)    
William Penn (Iowa) Heart of America Athletic Tournament Champion 1960 (16th)    
William Woods (Mo.) American Midwest Tournament Champion 2017 (T4th)    


2018 Men's Golf National Championships Individual Qualifiers (listed alphabetically by last name)

Name School Qualification
Matt Andrews Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) At-Large
Andre Becerra Bellevue (Neb.) North Star Athletic Individual Medalist
Wes Butenbach Park (Mo.) American Midwest Individual Medalist
Ben Kendrick Cumberlands (Ky.) Mid-South Individual Medalist
Rasmus Lind Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) At-Large
Nick Norton Arizona Christian Unaffiliated Group (A.I.I./GSAC/RRAC) Individual Medalist
Justin Pahl Madonna (Mich.) 2017 National Championship All-Tournament Member (Top 15)
Mitch Pfingsten Grand View (Iowa) 2017 National Championship All-Tournament Member (Top 15)
Domenick Postorino Arizona Christian 2017 National Championship All-Tournament Member (Top 15)
Austin Taylor Cincinnati Christian (Ohio) River States Individual Medalist
Kameron Williams Reinhardt (Ga.) Appalachian Athletic Individual Medalist