@JWUMGolfNM Finishes Tied for 12th in NAIA National Championship Tournament

@JWUMGolfNM Finishes Tied for 12th in NAIA National Championship Tournament

Final Results

SILVIS, Ill. (May 18, 2018)
– The Johnson & Wales men's golf team shot a 38-over-par (291-302-285-296, 1,174) to finish tied for 12th during the 67th Annual NAIA Men's Golf National Championships from Silvis, Illinois.

The four-day event was held at TPC Deere Run (par 71, 7,066 yards) and featured 29 teams and 11 individual qualifiers to make up a field of 156 players.

Leading the way for the Wildcats was Jake Bauer, who shot a one-over (72-72-68-74, 285) for the tournament to place tied for 11th. Following Bauer was Alex Rainville, who finished tied for 48th with a 10-over-par (71-79-71-73, 294). Casey Mills shot a 298 (+14) to place tied for 61st on the leaderboard (75-75-71-77). Max Major rounded out JWU's scores with a 20-over-par (73-84-75-72, 302).

This marked the Wildcats' 18th-consecutive appearance in the NAIA National Championship Tournament.

JWU (160-51) closes out the season having produced a season stroke average of 291.20 over 15 events. The Wildcats finished fourth in last month's TSC Men's Golf Championship, marking the team's ninth Top-5 finish in 2017-18. During the 2017-2018 campaign, JWU has amassed 19 individual top-10 finishes with 11 Top-5 results, and two medalists.

Following the tournament, Bauer was named to the all-tournament team after finishing among the top 15 players (plus ties) for the week.

2018 NAIA Men's Golf National Championship All-Tournament Team:
S.M. Lee, Dalton State (Ga.)
Jack Dyer, Keiser (Fla.)
Rowan Lester, Texas Wesleyan
Mark Johnson, Coastal Georgia
Ben Kendrick, Cumberlands (Ky.)
Andrew Williamson, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Rupert Kaminski, Oklahoma City
Harrison Stafford, Coastal Georgia
Garrison Mendoza, Oklahoma City
Gaston Romero, Oklahoma City
David Meyers, Oklahoma City
Jake Bauer, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
Erik Jonasson, Keiser (Fla.)
Blake Vise, Holy Cross (Ind.)
Colton Murphy, Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Leo Mathard, Texas Wesleyan
Liam Gransden, Keiser (Fla.)
Victor Miron, Texas Wesleyan
Carlos Ardila, Southeastern (Fla.)