Cody Booska Finishes Third; Wildcats Place Fifth at Sun Conference Championships

Cody Booska Finishes Third; Wildcats Place Fifth at Sun Conference Championships

Final Results (PDF) l Final Results (HTML)

DADE CITY, Fla. (April 30, 2019
) – Led by Cody Booska's 3-under 213, the Johnson & Wales (Fla.) men's golf team placed fifth in the year's Sun Conference Championships.

Hosted by Southeastern, this year's championships were held at the Lake Jovita Golf & Country Club (7,054 yards, par 72) and featured 10 conference teams with a total of 50 golfers.

The Wildcats finished the tournament 20 strokes back from this year's champion, USCB (+3). Coastal Georgia (+6), Keiser (+8), and Thomas (+18) rounded out the Top 4.

Booska, a 2019 All-Sun Conference selection, notched his third Top-5 finish of the season the claim the third spot on the final leaderboard. The native of Turners Falls, Massachusetts, carded a 213, shooting under par in each of the first two rounds (71-68-74).

Junior Jared Silva, appearing in just his third tournament this season, shot a career-best 4-over (72-75-73, 220) to place tied for 12th. The 12th-place finish was the best career finish for the native of Somerset, Massachusetts. Sophomore Jens Bendiksen, a 2019 TSC All-Academic honoree, placed 30th with a 12-over 228 (74-76-78).  Junior Gustav Tegel (+13) finished tied for 31st, while junior Tim Bender (+21) ended the tournament tied for 44th.

The Wildcats will now turn their attentions to the 68th Annual NAIA National Championships in Mesa, Arizona. This year's national championship is schedule to begin on Tuesday, May 21.

Men's Golf 2019 All-Sun Conference

Ben Bailey, Keiser

Joe Bannan, Thomas

Cody Booska, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)

Chris Brown, Keiser

Jack Faraci, USCB

Carl Didrik M. Fosaas, Keiser

Liam Gransden, Keiser

Mark David Johnson, Coastal Georgia

Kyle Kidd, Coastal Georgia

Jackson Lawlor, Coastal Georgia

Sam Ledbury, Thomas

Tim Nielsen, Keiser

Eli Scott, Coastal Georgia

Marc Sweeney, USCB

Jacob Thomas, USCB


Player of the Year

Mark David Johnson, Coastal Georgia


Freshman of the Year

Carl Didrik M. Fosaas, Keiser


Champion of Character

Landry Miller, Southeastern


Coach of the Year

Mike Cook, Coastal Georgia


Academic All-Sun Conference

Jens Bendiksen, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)

Jakub Szlaur, Ave Maria

Kyler Hardie, Ave Maria

Michael Spinger, Coastal Georgia

Liam Gransden, Keiser

Thomas Pirinoli, Keiser

Tyler McGarry, Keiser

Arnaud Galand, Keiser

Jacob Soucinek, Southeastern

Ranko Helc, Webber International

Josh Edgar, SCAD

Juan Diego Perez, SCAD

Dylan Smith, SCAD

Charlie Yuille, SCAD

Marc Sweeney, USCB

Bobby Dunphy, USCB