Three Wildcats Earn All-Sun Conference Honors

Three Wildcats Earn All-Sun Conference Honors

LAKELAND, Fla. (Oct. 31, 2018) – The Sun Conference announced its 2018 men's soccer first- and second-team all-conference teams on Wednesday with three Wildcats earning all-conference honors. Senior Patricio Rolon was named to the Sun Conference first team, while freshman Fernando Arzeno and senior Valentin Salinas garnered second-team recognition.

Rolon has appeared in all 13 matches for the Wildcats, starting in 10. The native of Buenos Aires, Argentina, finished the 2018 regular season tied for second on the team in points (18). Rolon has posted six goals and is tied for the team lead in assists (6). His point, goal, and assist totals are a single-season career high for the senior midfielder. He ranks tied for No. 4 in the conference in assists-per-game (0.46). He scored the game-winning goal at Ave Maria (9/26) and tallied career highs in points (6) and assists (4) during JWU's season-opening win over Johnson (Fla.) (13-0 on 8/25).

Arzeno has taken the pitch 12 times for JWU, making nine starts. The first-year striker leads the team with 21 points (10g, 1a). The native of Buenos Aires, Argentina, is the first Wildcat to reach double digits in goals scored in a single season since Pedro Codo and Victor Codo notched 11 goals each in 2013. He also set the single-season school record for converted penalty kicks with five in 2018. In the final match of the 2018 regular season, Arzeno posted his first collegiate hat trick as JWU defeated Warner, 3-1. Arzeno ranks No. 5 in the conference in goals-per-game (0.83) and shots on goal-per-contest (1.92). 

Salinas has appeared in all 13 matches in 2018 with six starts. The native of Buenos Aires, Argentina, was a TSC Honorable Mention selection a year ago. Salinas is tied for second on the team in total points (18) with six goals and six assists. His six assists are tied for the team lead while his assists-per-game total (0.46) ranks tied for No. 4 in the conference. His six goals, six assists, and 18 points are each single-season highs for the senior midfielder. He registered a career-high six points (2g, 2a) during the Wildcat's season-opening victory versus Johnson (Fla.) (13-0 on 8/25).   

The rest of the postseason awards, including Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, will be announced at the conference championship awards ceremony the night before the championship game.

2018 Men's Soccer First-Team All-Sun Conference

Forward: Ciro Damine, Keiser
Forward: Jake Van Der Luit, Southeastern
Forward: Gavin Rochford-Smith, Thomas
Midfield: Amine Meski, Keiser
Midfield: Hannu Tam, Keiser
Midfield: Aron Wimberly, Thomas
Midfield: Patricio Rolon, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
Defender: Harry Molyneux, St. Thomas
Defender: Logan Moriarity, Thomas
Defender: James Feehan, Warner
Goalkeeper: Ben Barnes, Thomas

2018 Men's Soccer Second-Team All-Sun Conference

Forward: Kaveon Dux, Ave Maria
Forward: Daniel Rodriguez, Warner
Forward: Fernando Arzeno, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
Midfield: Romario Atkinson, St. Thomas
Midfield: Jack Chambers, Thomas
Midfield: Valentin Salinas, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
Midfield: Y'sef Glass, Thomas
Defender: Ralph Francios, Warner
Defender: Joey Dotson, Southeastern
Defender: James Paylor, Southeastern
Goalkeeper: Mike Marx, St. Thomas