The Wildcats Earn All-Sun Conference Honors

The Wildcats Earn All-Sun Conference Honors

LAKELAND, Fla. (February 27, 2020) – The Sun Conference announced its 2019-20 all-conference teams on Thursday and junior Tianna Ayulo, sophomore Jordan McDuffie and freshman Shykim Gillion were among the 20 student-athletes voted on by the league's 10 head coaches.

Ayulo, a first-team selection, started in all 27 games for the Wildcats, earning three Sun Conference Player of the Week honors. The native of Hollywood, Florida, averaged 17.9 points-per-game (No. 2 in the conference and No. 21 in the nation) and 7.5 rebounds-per-contest (No. 9 in the conference). The third-year Wildcat averaged 3.6 assists-per-game (No. 5 in the conference and No. 50 in the nation) and 2.4 steals-per-contest (No. 4 in the conference and No. 39 in the nation). Ayulo scored in double-figures in all but four game and reached the 20-point plateau 11 times. She also scored 30-or-more points two times, including a season-high 31 points at St. Thomas (1/18/20). She produced six double-doubles during the year. This marks Ayulo third appearance on the league's first team.

McDuffie, a second-team selection, appeared in 26 games for the Wildcats, starting in 15. The native of White Plains, Maryland, averaged 11.3 points-per-game (No. 17 in the conference) and 3.4 rebounds-per-contest. McDuffie averaged 2.2 assists-per-game and 1.2 steals-per-contest. The second-year Wildcat scored in double-figures in 16 games, including a career-high 22 points versus Thomas (12/7/19). This marks her first all-conference honor.

Gillion, a second-team selection, appeared in all 27 games, making 26 starts. The native of Delray Beach, Florida, averaged 9.8 points-per-game and 4.5 rebounds-per-contest. The JWU point guard averaged 2.4 assists-per-game and 2.4 steals-per-contest (No. 4 in the conference and No. 39 in the nation). The first-year Wildcat reached double-figures in scoring 14 times. She reached the 20-win plateau three times, including a season-high 23 points both versus Coastal Georgia (12/5/19) and at St. Thomas (1/18/20).

The Sun Conference All-Conference teams:
First Team
Tianna Ayulo, Johnson & Wales (Fla.), F (Jr.)
Isis Lane, Florida Memorial, F (Sr.)
Reagan Linster, Southeastern, G (So.)
Kaliyah Little, Coastal Georgia, G (Fr.)
Midori Long, Keiser, F (Sr.)
Sarah Miller, Ave Maria, F (Sr.)
Taniya Patrick, Webber International, F (So.)
Marlena Schmidt, Southeastern, C (Sr.)
M'caela Sellers, Southeastern, G (Jr.)
Taylah Simmons, Southeastern, F (Jr.)
Second Team
Keiana Brooks, St. Thomas, G (Sr.)
Leandra Franklin, Webber International, G (Jr.)
Eliza West, Southeastern, G (Sr.)
Solrun Gisladottir, Coastal Georgia, G (Jr.)
Lynsey Washington, Coastal Georgia, G (Sr.)
Emily Patton, Keiser, G (Jr.)
Jordan McDuffie, Johnson & Wales (Fla.), F (So.)
Airneisha Gamble, Florida Memorial, G (Jr.)
Macarena Corral, Ave Maria, G (Sr.)
Shykim Gillion, Johnson & Wales (Fla.), G (Fr.)
Player of the Year:  Taylah Simmons, Southeastern
Freshman of the Year: Kaliyah Little, Coastal Georgia
Coach of the Year: Tim Hays, Southeastern
Champion of Character: Samantha Gilbert, Thomas
Repeat first-team selections from 2018-19 include Sarah Miller from Ave Maria and Tianna Ayulo from Johnson & Wales. In fact, both Miller and Ayulo are first-team picks for the third consecutive season.
The following 20 players have been recognized as All-Academic honorees for the 2019-20 season:
Danielle Bailey, Florida Memorial
Shawnice King, Florida Memorial
Marlena Schmidt, Southeastern
Raegan Linster, Southeastern
Danielle Domino, Ave Maria
Renee Roberts, Ave Maria
Taylor Lopez, Ave Maria
Georgia Slay, Ave Maria
Danielle Weinmann, Ave Maria
Sarah Miller, Ave Maria
Alisha Clayton, Thomas
Jewel Montisano, Thomas
Alexis Forbes, Coastal Georgia
Lynsey Washington, Coastal Georgia
Keiana Brooks, St. Thomas
Gianni Domond, St. Thomas
Antigonie Sanabria, Keiser
Kelly Meade, Keiser
Lexie Jackson, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
Ayshia Scott, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)