@JWUVBallNM Splits Day Two of the 2018 Running Eagle Classic

@JWUVBallNM Splits Day Two of the 2018 Running Eagle Classic

Final Stats (Game One) (PDF) l Final Stats (Game One) (HTML)
Final Stats (Game Two) (PDF) l Final Stats (Game Two) (HTML)

MARIETTA, Ga. (Sept. 1, 2018)
– On the second day of the 2018 Running Eagle Classic hosted by Life University, the Johnson & Wales volleyball team (4-4) split a pair of matches dropping a 3-0 decision to Tennessee Wesleyan and defeating Brenau, 3-1, on Saturday.

In the first match of the day, the Wildcats battled the Bulldogs of Tennessee Wesleyan with an early-morning contest. The Wildcats struggle on the offensive side of the net, producing a hitting percentage of .028 en route to a 3-0 (25-12, 25-22, 25-19) loss. Junior Sharell Nairn and sophomore Savannah Swenson led JWU with seven kills apiece following by a six-kill performance by junior Sierra Mooney. Swenson notched a team-best 13 digs. Freshman Vanessa Orozco tallied a match-high 20 assists.

Later in the afternoon, JWU took the court versus Brenau in the team's final match of the Classic. With three Wildcats registering kills in double-figures, JWU snapped its three-match losing skid with a 3-1 (25-22, 21-25, 25-22, 25-16) win over the Golden Tigers. Mooney (15) Swenson (13) and Nairn (10) were the top offensive threats for JWU. Four Wildcats reached double-digits in digs with sophomore Bianca Torres, Orozco and Swenson totaled 16 each in the contest while Nairn tallied 12. Both Swenson and Narin recorded double-double versus Bernau. For Nairn it was her first double-double of the season while Swenson notched her third of the weekend. Orozco paced JWU in assists (20) followed closely by sophomore Anissa Giammona.

The Wildcats begin Sun Conference play on Saturday, September 8, with a 2:00 pm match at Webber International.

Running Eagle Classic All Tournament team

Reinhardt- Tessa Colden
Life University- Liz Mann
Southeastern- Courtney Krause
Freed Hardeman- Bojana Antunovic
Faulkner- Julianne Wilkes
Coastal Georgia- Kyra White
Tennessee Wesleyan- Avery Hilliard
Truett McConnell- Shayla Smith
UM-Dearborn- Caitlyn Carlson
St. Andrews- Kellie Price
Brenau- Nicole Ighile
Johnson & Wales- Bianca Torres